Frequently asked questions
Why don’t I see my comment?
In order to streamline and simplify the Pulse user experience, we have removed the comments functionality. Now when you respond to a message, you will respond with another message, which, unlike a comment, can contain such rich information as a photo or a place. On older web and mobile clients, you will still see the choice to write a comment, but it will become a Pulse message behind the scene. If you don’t see the comment you just wrote, try looking to see if it now shows as a separate message in the same conversation.
What is Nokia Pulse?
Nokia Pulse is smarter messaging. Easily send private messages that are automatically tagged with your current location, so syncing up with or letting people know where you are is as easy as a few taps. You can also suggest a place to meet up, with rich information like reviews and directions contained right in the message. So whether you’re making plans, changing plans, or on your way, a single Pulse message gets everyone on the same page.
What happens to a Pulse message if I choose to share it to Facebook and/or Twitter?
Your Pulse message will appear in the Pulse conversation in which you sent the message, just like any other Pulse message. In addition, any text, photo or place that is part of the message will appear on your Facebook wall and/or Twitter feed. However, we will preserve your privacy by removing the name of the Pulse conversation in which the message was created, your "Sent from" location or any other information about the participants of the conversation. Subsequent replies to that Pulse message will not appear in Facebook and/or Twitter. Once the message appears in Facebook and/or Twitter, it will be visible by everyone who has access to your Facebook wall or follows your Twitter feed. Sharing one Pulse message to Facebook and/or Twitter does not expose any other Pulse message from the same conversation to Facebook and/or Twitter.
How do I pin a conversation to start on Windows Phone?
Go to conversations and long press on any conversation you want to pin to start. A menu box will open up with two options: “pin to start” and “leave.” Tap on “pin to start,” and a conversation tile will be added to your start page.
If I sign-in with my Facebook account, is my Nokia Pulse data shared on Facebook?
No, Pulse does not share any Pulse data with Facebook. But you can use your Facebook username and password to sign into Pulse and avoid having to create yet another account.
Who can add new people to a conversation?
Nokia Pulse can be used by family and friends for private conversations. So, anyone in your conversation can add a new member. Once someone is added, they can also send and receive updates and photos, invite someone new, or change the name of the conversation.
Who can remove people from a conversation?
Much like adding someone to the conversation, anyone in a conversation can remove another member as well. After tapping on the conversation member's name, select “remove”. The action of removing a member will get announced to the conversation in the feed, so make sure you have a good reason!
How do I leave a conversation?
After tapping your name in the list of people in the conversation, select “leave”. This will not get announced in the conversation feed.
After leaving a conversation, you won't have access to that specific conversation, and will not receive any email notifications from the conversation. To join the conversation again, another active member of that conversation will need to add you back on.
How do I turn on or off email notifications?
On you mobile phone, visit the settings menu to turn email notifications on/off.